October 30, 2010

  • Which is better?

    Which is better…Mac or PC?

    When it come to tax return time we need a new computer. I have been a PC owner since 2000 (when I got my first computer) but I have been looking at Mac. I am trying to figure out which is better. I have to admit Microsoft has been really pissing me off recently and I am ready to say I don’t want to do business with you anymore you stupid people LOL. I am not sure though if I should go out and get another PC or if I really should switch to Mac.

    What do you use…. Mac or PC?
    Which do you prefer?
    Which would you recommend?
    Why?

Comments (29)

  • i use a pc, it’s all we have ever had.  i do not know how mac’s run or if either is better than the other.  sorry, i wish i could help.  have a wonderful day!!!!!!

  • I’m the last person in the world to ask, seƱorita Krisalita. LOL

    Hey, thanks for calling yesterday! :D I hafta take dad to a church thing this am but will try you all this wkend.

    (( bughuggles))

    . < my bug friend accidentally just left a dropping. I’m sorry. I will have to clean that up.

  • Only a PC owner.  But I use Linux (Ubuntu or Mint flavors) on my machines.  Do have a windows system (XP). 
    Also run windows in a Virtual machine.
    Now with Mac, I believe you get Bootcamp and thus can still run Windows.  Several friends use Macs.

    But me personally I have navigated from Windows to Linux and love it.

    Here are some things to consider:  The expense of navigating to a new system, your favorite software programs will have to be replaced unless you use what is only with the operating system.  Learning names of equivalent programs, Safari is default browser.  But Firefox is available for all OP systems (windows, Linux, bsd, Mac/apple).
    Expense of hardware.

    If you are willing to take the plunge — it will be a learning experience.  Customer support is available

    Linux for most flavors is free, and most software with it free too.  Again a learning curve.  No or little customer support, but a great help community.

  • I use a PC and like it.  I have a friend that uses Mac all the time but he is into recording videos. -sounds like Mac is better for that.  I suppose it all depends on what you want the computer for. 

  • Didn’t Linux have a security blanket???

  • I’ll only ever own a PC. I’ve used macs before in journalism and every one of them would freeze up at least once a week. I’ve used my boyfriend’s mac also and it’s so temperamental. I’ve never used a mac that cooperated.

  • With a MAC, you are paying tons for for a brand name and the snobbery that comes with it.  PCs are just as good, if not better, and much more personally customizable. 

  • i have used both. i would prefer a mac, but the cost is a factor. so i use a pc.  over all a mac is less “buggy” and less prone to virus but soft ware is limited.  i am waiting for the next version of the ipad and will get that unless a pc version is better and less money

  • I’ve owned and used a mac for several years now and I have overall less issues with it than I ever had with my PC. I have less issues with my three year old laptop than my parents have with their brand new Dell (although, granted, they’re not terribly computer savvy, lol). I have less issues with my laptop than I do with the computer I use at work, which is also a Dell

    The operating system is not that terribly different, and over the years apple has tried to make their computers more windows-like in order to encourage people to switch. And, as someone mentioned above, you can run windows on a Mac now. The only downside is that Macs tend to be a little more pricey. I think you should go to the stores and play around with each for a bit to see if you feel comfortable. Ask people who have owned them. Lots of windows users like to say that macs are awful, but they’ve never used them. And lots of Mac users will spend hours bashing Windows, without talking about the good points. So take advice only from people who know what they’re talking about, from experience. I think it depends on what you’re going to be using it for, so keep that in mind as well.

    PS: I love that picture above. It looks like the Windows guy is a racer and the Apple guy is Captain America. :)

  • I too have been wondering about switching to a MAC.  I get fed up with Microsoft too.  But thus far I’ve worked only with PCs.  I just don’t know what to tell you.  But you’re not alone in your dissatisfaction with Microsoft. 

  • I use a PC and it is all I have ever used.  My neighbor uses Mac and prefers it because she says it does not get hit by viruses.  I use a dell studio laptop and love it.

  • Here’s my thought on this matter: you’re going to get out of it what you put into it. Lots of people complain about their crappy PCs and whatnot, but that’s because they bought a $500 laptop! Of course it’s going to suck. I have a fairly nice (not top of the line, but it’s still sweet) PC. It’s a Dell XPS and I’ve never had any issues with it that weren’t of my own doing. hehe 

    I use both Mac (at school) and PC (at home) and I definitely see the benefits and downfalls of both. I think a lot of it is about preference. I think next time I get a computer it’s going to be Mac. Not because I think it’s sooo much better, but because I really enjoy the interface and it’s more conducive to my job field (graphic design & photography). 

  • Macs are PCs.  A PC is just a personal computer, and Mac can run Windows.

    Apple is basically a hardware company, and Microsoft gets most of their money selling software.  So if you want a more durable machine and don’t want to pay ridiculous amounts of money for software, get a Mac (and Open Office for free online).  I generally prefer Macs because they work better for my artwork, and I find they’re more user-friendly once you get the hang of them.  The learning curve isn’t that difficult, either.

  • Oh, and my boyfriend is a computer scientist who has worked in IT for seven years.  He cannot stand using Microsoft products anymore, so he switched to all Mac computers at home.  It saves him from having the same frustrations that he has to deal with at work.  He’s also a DJ/electronic musician, and Macs are better suited to running the software and peripherals he needs to make music.

  • Both suck, but macs are worse. Apple sucks. A lot.

  • have both, use both, love the mac 50 times over.

    for every time your super fast ps freeze on a website, mac doesnt. and every time it shuts down or you need to control alt delete, you dont on a mac.

    macs just run smoother, faster, and better.

    less viruses, and amazing graphics.

    once you go mac, you never go back. its true.

  • I’m definitely a PC.
    I just find it more user friendly and adaptable to me.

  • I used Mac and Mac only.  I prefer it and I highly recommend it to everyone.

    If you want a Mac but will still need Windows for some things, you can run Windows on a Mac, either side by side or one at a time.  I don’t do that so I can’t tell you how that works but my friends say that Mac runs Windows better than Windows machines.

    My pre-unibody MacBook Pro is three years old this year and it still runs almost as fast as the day I bought it.  In September, my logic board (motherboard for you Windows heads) suddenly failed and I took it to my local Apple Authorized Service Center.  They shipped it off that very day and I had it back two days later, good as new with the contents of my hard drive totally untouched.  Try getting a Windows-based company to do that.  The tech support with Apple is so far beyond outstanding – I’ve never been anything but pleased. 

    In terms of ease of use and aesthetics, I think Mac is much easier to use and has a much cleaner, much sleeker look.  It’s not hard at all to learn to run one and I’d be happy to help you learn if you’d like – just contact me here.  Mac is loaded with all kinds of cool features too!

    Macs also almost never get viruses.  Don’t get me wrong, there are some Mac-based viruses out there so I wouldn’t run your Mac without anti-virus (I can recommend a good freebie) but the chances of you getting one of these viruses are pretty much nil as long as you don’t run pirated software.

    Whatever you get, you should get an extended warranty.  Apple offers a one year warranty free, and you can buy a three-year extended warranty (Apple Care) that takes over when the one-year warranty expires.  So you have four years worth of warranty.  That logic board failure that I mentioned above was covered under my extended warranty – otherwise the repair would have cost me $950 plus shipping.  Ouch.  You may never need the extended warranty but it’s there in case That Thing You Hope Never Happens happens.

    My only complaint with Mac is the lack of software options.  However, for me that’s not so big an issue because I have a separate Windows machine for those programs.  Also, you can run Windows on Mac like I mentioned above.

    Remember that you get what you pay for.  Yes, Macs are more expensive but they last much, much longer.  A dear friend of mine runs a 15-year-old Mac with very little problems.  If you pay $200 for a machine, no matter what OS, you’re going to have a $200 machine experience.

    As one poster said – once you go Mac, you don’t go back!

    Feel free to contact me if you have any questions!  Sorry this was so long!

  • The last computer I had was a Mac. I learned a lot using it and it was so easy to work with. The only problem I had was that instead of going wonky in stages like a PC, it seemed to go all at once. It was in the shop twice, but that was because of stupid crap I did to it, not because Mac sucks.

    Honestly, I’d love to have another one. I didn’t have to spend hours trying to find programs that would work with it and it loaded wicked fast. I sure do miss it sometimes. Dat thang was awesome.

  • My mac works so much smoother than my PC ever did.  With that said, PCs have more software that works with them, but I love my Mac.

  • MAC MAC MAC MAC MAC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • If you know anybody who does this, ask somebody to build a computer for you. It’s cheaper (depending on what you want on it) and it’ll be a better investment imo.  

  • @snapeful - Yes, do this. Build your own computer. That’s probably the best option.

    My boyfriend is going to work full time with Microsoft so I’m more prone to lean towards Windows, although I’ve always used Windows before I even met him.

    @LovesTwo - @supergirl0221 - I’m sorry. I really really hate the whole argument that “Macs never get any viruses.” Why do you think that is? Because the majority of people use Windows, so people who create viruses are going to target the majority and create viruses for Windows. Macs are rapidly becoming quite popular though, so I’m not going to be surprised if in a couple years, there will be a multitude of Mac viruses created. Also, I’ve used Windows for many, many, many years and have only gotten a virus once (when I was really young and clicked on one of those evil, alluring ads). Seriously, if you’re smart about protection for your laptop/computer and you’re smart about what you are clicking, you really shouldn’t be getting viruses. Also, I’ve used Macs several different times. And I didn’t go back. I still love Windows. Just sayin’.

    Anyway, Macs and Windows both have their ups and downs. It really depends on what you want to do with your laptop/computer.

  • Mac! I had over 4 Windows computers, always having to get new ones. I got an IMac and its been four years with it and it still works perfect. I just got the macbook pro which I love. 

  • @asininity@datingish - I didn’t say “Macs never get viruses.”  I said they could but the chances were pretty much nil as long as you don’t use pirated software.  There have been some very, very nasty Mac viruses passed through pirated software in recent years.  Macs can still get viruses through the plain old Interwebz as well but I have not heard of any in a long time.

    90+% of the world still uses Windows.  It’s just not cost-effective to create viruses for Macs.  You can do it if you want but you’re much better off to create one for Windows because your success in accomplishing whatever you hoped to accomplish by writing the virus is exponentially larger.  Also, Macs have little to no reverse compatibility (unlike Windows) so a virus that worked on an older version of Mac OS is highly unlikely to work on a newer version, cutting that problem off at the pass.  Note that I also recommended using an anti-virus program on a Mac.  I do and I’m just as fanatical about updating and scanning as I was when I was using Windows.  I’m speaking strictly on viruses, not on any human factor.  Phishing scams and the like are just as common on Mac as on Windows but that’s more of a human factor than an OS factor.

    I used Windows for 15 years.  Without fail, I got a virus at least once every six months and NO I was NOT doing anything stupid like opening unexpected emails and clicking on pop-ups.  I updated my definitions daily and ran a virus scan twice a week religiously.  This was back before Google, Yahoo and other search engines would warn you not to click on a possibly infected links.  Remember that pop-up blockers don’t always block and you can get viruses just because the pop-up opened, not necessarily that you clicked on anything.  Nearly every virus I got was through either of those methods.  The others were because someone else less security-savvy was using the computer.  As for the future of viruses on Macs – that remains to be seen.  In my opinion, I think we still have some distance to cover on that one.  In any case, I’m still going to be fanatical about my computer’s security. 

  • I’ve been a PC owner since when I was a child. I didn’t even think that
    I’m going to switch to MAC, since I don’t know how it is
    working.  Anyway, both have their advantages and disadvantages. You’re the only one who can decide which of the two you’re going to use.

    ________________
    wow gold

  • Hi Kristen,
    I’ve used Macs for about 5 years and knew sometime I couldn’t keep up on a budget using them. I had always pondered Linux, especially after Apple went Intel for their chip set. I couldn’t get Linux installed on a Mac after several attempts successfully.

    So, finally I started browsing newegg and doing research to install Ubuntu on a home built PC by me.
    The sky’s the limit when you build your own PC and it’s really not that hard, so just about anyone should be able to build one if they are careful like a surgeon at times i.e., if you’ve upgraded RAM you should be able to build a PC.

    A good place to start learning about building, picking good components, and what-not is PCmech on the forums.

    Ubuntu has gotten a lot more friendly with the release of 10.10 Maverick Meercat and it’s a highly customisable OS with excellent security and it’s Software Center is simply awesome and Mac doesn’t have one. you can also purchase software for Ubuntu through the software center.

    My PC with Ubuntu 32Bit has an AMD Phenom IIX2 processor and a ATi HD 4550 GPU, 2 WD Hard drives, decent case, and it the fastest system I’ve ever owned. All for around $500 with used monitors, mice and keyboards

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *