July 26, 2011

  • Out of the Closet

    Declare and share your nonbelief! Although the nonreligious — including one in six U.S. citizens — are a significant segment of the world population, many Americans have never knowingly met a nonbeliever. You can help dispel myths, educate and promote reason by adding your voice, face and message to FFRF’s friendly neighborhood freethinker campaign. FFRF’s “Out of the Closet” billboards and bus signs are going up around the country. Although we can’t put everyone on a real billboard, every nonbeliever can participate in this unique “cyberboard” campaign. (Yours might even be chosen, with your permission, for an actual billboard.) This is your chance to proclaim you’re a freethinker and why. It’s working for the gay rights movement. Now it’s time for atheists and agnostics to come out of our closet. Many faces make Enlightenment work.

    http://ffrf.org/out/

Comments (75)

  • I approve of this message. I saw many of these in an atheist Facebook group, now I know why! 

  • …I’m so confused right now. I could have sworn you were a Christian back in the day. Did I miss something? n_n; Oh, and a fairy tale? Really? That seems kind of a harsh way to refer to my beliefs, there, simply because you don’t want to believe like I do. :/

  • @akarui_mitsukai - I don’t think Fairy Tale is harsh. What do you think of the tales of Hades, or Ceres, or Medusa or Istenanya or Zeus (Just to name a few)? You would call those fairy tales or mythology but at one point people believed and worshiped them too.

  • @Kristenmomof3 - Fairy tale and myth are very distinct categories.

  • I actually support this and approve of your message. Nobody should pretend to be someone they aren’t and/or have to hide who they are. On the other side, I think it’s deplorable what Christians in America do to make non-Christians into second-class ctizens. Nobody should be made into a second class citizen based on religious beliefs (or lack thereof).

    Further, I completely agree with your stance on morality. Religion does not have a monopoly on morality. There are some atheists with very high moral standards, and some religious people (including from my own) with crummy moral standards. I really wish the notions of “atheist = evil,” “Muslim = terrorist,” etc. would go away, because they are simply not true.

  • … many americans have never knowingly met an unbeliever? …

    I’m sorry, which america are you living in?

    Unless you live in a town, - ”population 10…” Everyone that I know of knows MANY atheists, agnostics, etc… I myself know at least 30 IRL…

  • @LKJSlain - Not in the bible belt. Many people remain quiet about it because others can be quite ignorant.

  • Are you serious??? Well I think the important thing is the fact that DRAG QUEENS ARE HOT!!!

  • Maybe I should be classified as an agnostic. 

    Yet I think the Jewish tribe is more of a race than a religion and I do believe in Zionism. 

    I think that the New Left’s anti-Israel stand as reflected in publications such as The Nation, is very offputting and I’d rather watch the Faux news channel than be subjected to knee jerk pah pah pah pah Palestinian liberal guilt propaganda.  The paradox is that now the pro-Israel lobby is dependent upon the very hardcore anti-abortion pro-prayer in public schools hard line Republican Party Christian Zionist faction to keep Israel vestigially an ally of the USA and that is because of the anti-Israel cancer that spread within the New Left.

    This is kind of heavy and you weren’t even talking about the Middle East.

  • @DominatingThinspo - sorry feeling CRAZY tonight!

  • Weren’t you a Christian last year? This is what I remember, anyway. 

  • @DominatingThinspo - Many of them in fact are Christian from Latina or Filipina Catholic backgrounds or from the Blacque church, such as The Lady Chablis, or were brought up Christian and have many religious icons about their persons and their homes.  I actually have not met any Moslem ones in person, but ALL those Turkish and Arabic guys on Facebook in the countries that allow any degree of internet access…are tranny chasers.  There seem to also be a number of queens on Facebook with Arabic and Persian and Turkish writing on their Facebook pages.  There is a touch of Jewish princess in every drag queen for that matter.  Israel’s Dana International is definately a credit to the Jews because modern Israel is strong enough to let her be who she is.

    The above probably just barely hung together as logical thought structure but who cares for the moon to be so smooth…

  • @Saridactyl - I’m sorry… but again… my father was a pastor, so I’ve literally met thousands upon thousands of Christians (and in another country) I don’t know a single one of them who has NOT met non-believers IRL… – The reality? More often than not, we know non-believers in our own family, and that’s just in our FAMILY… that’s not counting friends, co-workers, etc… I don’t know how this statement can be true based on that.

    The same can be said (regarding ignorance) for christians btw… I know many christians who are afraid to say anything because they believe immediately that the non-believer thinks they’re “being judged” … etc etc. I’m not one of them, but… –

  • @LKJSlain - I agree…I don’t know anybody who doesn’t know at least one atheist…  And I have friends from the Bible Belt who are vocal atheists so I don’t think the assertion is true that most Americans have never met an atheist/agnostic/etc.

  • @firetyger - It’s a very odd misconception if you ask me O_o…

  • @Saridactyl - Having lived in the Bible belt, as well as having friends who live in the Bible belt, the situation is more complicated than that. Some of the most tolerant communities I’ve lived in were in the Bible belt, in contrast with some of the religious intolerance I witnessed in the more “liberal” states, like California. In the end it really is more of a cultural phenomenon than a religious one.

  • This is a good cause. Actually I think about half of my friends are non believers but people don’t openly talk about religion. We don’t have discussions so I’m not sure. People should be able to be open of who they are and what they believe, that is what we’re suppose to stand for. 

    @LKJSlain - I think she meant people who openly admit specially when they know you’re religious. I’m sure many of my friends are but we never discuss whether we believe or not. It’s not dinner table conversation. I guess… That’s how I took it… And I didn’t meet people so open about not believing and speaking out until I came on here, Xanga.

  • @SirNickDon - I don’t think a Christian would approve of their beliefs being called “myths” either.

  • @LKJSlain - All I’m saying is that it’s believable that someone may not want to be open about being a non-believer. Other than my BF and maybe 5 other people, everyone else I know believes in some sort of god. I’ve been verbally attacked on multiple occasion for simply acknowledging that religion is faith based and that no one really knows that there is beyond our universe. Ignorance exists in all places.

    @QuantumStorm - I’ve only ever lived in the bible belt, so I don’t really know about more liberal places. I just know what I have experienced personally. Not all of it is bad, but not all of it is good, either.

  • The thing I did like about calling Atheists and those on the non-religious side of agnosticism: “Free-thinkers”, is that it insinuates that religious people are not free thinkers. It’s like calling Christian’s: “The-Holy” or “Saints”. The implications are dodgy at best. 

  • @Saridactyl - I think a lot of it has to do with the way the people are brought up in that area. I don’t think any particular belief system (or lack thereof) has as much to do with it as other social factors. I can think of a number of instances where religion, or a lack thereof, was a cause for unity in a group, but then that same group would discriminate against others because of their differences. Religious or otherwise, we’re all human, and subject to the same ills of humanity.

  • @Kristenmomof3 - So then you wouldn’t mind if I called your beliefs: Arrogant, and Blasphemous?

    My point is there is the point where we respectfully disagree. People like Krisko, Vinnie, Jack are great examples of that. Then there’s being a jerk: like say Hector, Serena, Mark, Connor or Craig.

  • What’s to share? You don’t believe. What else is there to discuss?

  • @Saridactyl - What you might not understand is that it still goes both ways. I have been mocked, verbally attacked, harassed, etc for being a believer. (One time an atheist mocked me in a room full of forty/fifty men… in front of all of them)

    Both sides contain ignorance.

    The point is that people still know one another.

  • @LKJSlain - I never said that it doesn’t go both ways, that’s something I do understand, I was religious before I decided it wasn’t for me. That’s exactly what I meant when I said “Ignorance exists in all places.” I don’t typecast all Christians as that type of person and I didn’t see in any of my comments where anything I said could be construed in such a way. :/

    @QuantumStorm - I very much agree with you.

  • I fully respect that other people do not have any religion and others believe in different religions than mine (Christianity) and that even other Christians may believe differently than I do.  We all have the right to think what we want & believe in what we choose to believe. 

    However, at first read it seems that you are possibly being disrespectful & rude toward religion, especially Christianity.  In what ways?  I’ll share the quotes that come off as offensive at first read.

    “You can help dispel myths, educate and promote reason”

    Dispel myths…. what myths are you hoping to dispel? 

    Educate & promote reason?  What does this mean?

    I can tell you how I am understanding it & hope  that you can confirm this or explain how it was actually meant. 

    I’m understanding this to mean that you & others hope to teach
    people that Christianity (and religion in general) are myths &
    promote reason – as in there is no God, etc.  This is absolute
    intolerance.  Just as others see trying to educate & change LGBT
    people to straight is intolerant.  So I am hoping that your words were
    not intended as they first come across.

    “freethinker campaign”

    Freethinker.  I see this often applying to atheists.  As if they have
    the market cornered on this, yet a person subscribing to any religion
    cannot be a free thinker because instead of making the rules up on their
    own, they are agreeing to live in accordance to a religion that appeals
    to them & a religion that they believe betters their lives.  
    Religious people can be free thinkers just as much as anyone else.  If
    you get sick & someone tells you a home remedy that helped them,
    does it make you any less a free thinker because you chose to follow
    their suggestion & try the remedy that they or someone else came up
    with?

  • @akarui_mitsukai - she was not just a christian but a supper legalistic one who used to tell me that I dressed too immodestly to be a christian for not waring a burka while swimming. She went from an extreem ilogical christianity to an extreem and illogical atheism

  • Kristen, I do not agree with or like some of the wording in this document. It’s very divisive and condescending, which I’m sure was not your intent to highlight.
    There has to be a two way street of not only seeking to be heard, respected or understood but also seeking to listen, respect and understand others as well.

  • With that aside, I respect the notion that atheists and non believers should feel comfortable to express themselves. I know people are much more accepting of non belief where I live, than belief. But I understand this is important to promote fairness and equality of treatment. I just think could have been worded in a way so as not to back- handedly insult those of faith.

  • @MyTwoCentss - dispelled myths that people have about Atheists. I am sorry I thought that was clear what it meant.

    @estadquietos -  see answer above

  • @MyTwoCentss - Freethinking or freethinker = Freethought is a philosophical viewpoint that holds that opinions should
    be formed on the basis of science, logic, and reason, and should not be
    influenced by authority, tradition, or
    dogma.The cognitive application of freethought is known as
    ‘freethinking’, and practitioners of freethought are known as
    ‘freethinkers’. Freethought holds that individuals should not accept
    ideas proposed as truth without recourse to knowledge and reason. Thus,
    freethinkers strive to build their opinions on the basis of facts,
    scientific inquiry, and logical principles, independent of any logical
    fallacies or intellectually limiting effects of authority, confirmation
    bias, cognitive bias, conventional wisdom, popular culture, prejudice,
    sectarianism, tradition, urban legend, and all other dogmas. Regarding
    religion, freethinkers hold that there is insufficient evidence to
    support the existence of supernatural phenomena.

    and that is why you normally see it used the way that you do.

  • @trunthepaige - hey, back then I was actually trying to follow the bible unlike most christians who pick and choose what parts they want to follow.

  • @Saridactyl - exactly

    @TheCrimesOfDougMoe - I think that you did go into heavy shit here with this comment :) It maybe better if I don’t touch this comment as I could go on and on about my thoughts on Fox “news”

    @bakersdozen2 - I was messianic at one point. It is one of the things that led to my atheism. Reading all of the bible many times and actually trying to follow ALL of it rather then pick and choose like so many christians do.

    @LKJSlain - nonbeliever in god (meaning all gods or goddesses)? or are you just talking about a person who doesn’t believe in the “christian god”? There is a big difference.

    @nidan - Freethinking or freethinker = Freethought is a philosophical viewpoint that holds that opinions should be formed on the basis of science, logic, and reason, and should not be influenced by authority, tradition, or  dogma.The cognitive application of freethought is known as  ‘freethinking’, and practitioners of freethought are known as  ‘freethinkers’. Freethought holds that individuals should not accept  ideas proposed as truth without recourse to knowledge and reason. Thus,  freethinkers strive to build their opinions on the basis of facts, scientific inquiry, and logical principles, independent of any logical fallacies or intellectually limiting effects of authority, confirmation bias, cognitive bias, conventional wisdom, popular culture, prejudice, sectarianism, tradition, urban legend, and all other dogmas. Regarding religion, freethinkers hold that there is insufficient evidence to
    support the existence of supernatural phenomena.

    @nidan - I am not sure who Hector or Connor are…maybe I know them by their Xanga names. So I can not comment on them. But as for Mark…I think he is a really great person and only tends to attack when attacked first. And Serena and Craig…I think it is possible to have good conversations with them too but you need to be respectful to them if you expect them to be respectful to you.

  • @estadquietos - not sure what you have a problem with…..

    Dispel myths = dispelled myths that people have about Atheists.

    Freethinking or freethinker = Freethought is a
    philosophical viewpoint that holds that opinions should be formed on
    the basis of science, logic, and reason, and should not be influenced by
    authority, tradition, or  dogma.The cognitive application of
    freethought is known as  ‘freethinking’, and practitioners of
    freethought are known as  ‘freethinkers’. Freethought holds that
    individuals should not accept  ideas proposed as truth without recourse
    to knowledge and reason. Thus,  freethinkers strive to build their
    opinions on the basis of facts, scientific inquiry, and logical
    principles, independent of any logical fallacies or intellectually
    limiting effects of authority, confirmation bias, cognitive bias,
    conventional wisdom, popular culture, prejudice, sectarianism,
    tradition, urban legend, and all other dogmas. Regarding religion,
    freethinkers hold that there is insufficient evidence to support the existence of supernatural phenomena.

  • Oh ok, I thought I remembered that. Thanks!

  • Okay. Thanks for clarification there. I had been informed of some of this before but I’m sorry, respectfully, if your reputation for pride and arrogance with those of differing belief in past clouded my better judgement. I am sorry to have to say it, but there has been at times a superior- acting attitude/ and other indicators which lead me to secretly doubt whether you personally knew Christ.
    I suspected it was just a legalistic- works based religion to you because of those indicators.
    You rejected what you didnt really ever know to be true. if it were real to you, you wouldnt obviously be able to make the claim now that it isn’t.

    I am sure there is a lot of discrimination, especially in the united states as a whole. I have empathy for those people.

    I’m sorry you feel that way, but it has been my personal experience ( and that of my daughter and many other Christians I have known) as well as I know my own demographic. We are much more culturally and religiously diverse here bc it is such a huge metropolis/ surrounding area. In the workplace,volunteering, at university I just knew I would encounter hostility if I brought up faith related topics or voice my beliefs.

    Just want to be clear, atheists like anyone else, can be moral people, so I wasn’t saying your pride was bc of your lack of faith. Mark, for example, is more like Jesus than most Christians realize.
    But I am saying that bc of your attitude of self righteousness in past
    when you were pious, I had a very difficult time not believing that you were acting in kind.

  • @estadquietos - well, thank you for letting me know your true opinion of me. Good to know how you really feel.

  • I am sorry Kristen but I’ve tried to be very patient and understanding for very long time.
    You are a good person with many good traits and strength of character in many other areas.
    I hate to hurt you. You mean the world to me.
    But I did not want to hinder our friendship before. It still kills me that I have.
    I was always so bold before, but i have been humbled a great deal– bc I was so proud.

    I’ve tried to love you unconditionally since the very beginning when God first put it on my heart to do so.
    He loved you and showed me just how awesome and precious you and Barry were.
    You did love me and bless me so much too.

    I’m sorry for speaking this publicly. I will delete if you think it best.
    Further evidence of my flaws
    Clearly, I am a very flawed person. This was not right time or place for that.

    See, I need God every second of every day.
    Have for two decades needed and depended on him.
    That whole Matthew thing shattered my faith, but after all that I still know Him to be true.

  • @estadquietos - no need to delete anything. It is how you feel. Feel free to be open about it. If the only reason you are my friend is because you believe “god” is telling you to be… then don’t bother. I thought we were actually friends not friends just because god told you to be nice to me. I treated you like a sister. I let you close and I don’t let many people close. but if it was all just because god told you to then just forget it. I have had “friends” like that before that taught me how friends like that are.

    I thought we were actual friends.

  • We were actually friends but I understand. I did try to tell you these things all along.
    Every time I tried to confront you with simething you withdrew or pushed it
    aside so that I had to just let it go or fix things myself.
    I leave it up to you now. I loved you and Barry, still do. But I’m not the only one who should work to make a friendship
    last. So I am leaving it in your hands now to fix if you choose.
    You may not want me as a friend any more after all that I’ve said here, and I respect that very much and understand.

  • @estadquietos - thank you for letting me know how you feel

  • Sounds like Kristen’s issue is a bit of self loathing of childhood, loss of grandfather, lack of parenting, and a pendulum of religious seeking which led to a fundamental  style of dressing,covering, and extreme measures of faith.

    I do not doubt the new found presentation of homosexuality and now atheism.

    Kristen you are a lost one searching for where you fit.  In 21st century that means you are using a blog to show your path of discovery.

    No worries or struggles voicing your opinions on your blog.  I would recommend a therapist or someone to talk to in person. I think you have deeper issues than of faith or whatever.  No shame in admitting this, and no shame letting you know. Perhaps if those closer to you could lead the way. You are a sweet person and the mom of three beautiful children.

    I pray all works out well for you…in this path of peeling away your past to define your future.

    Jen Amy

  • @Kristenmomof3 - 

    If you believe the same as them then I have no doubt they are respectful to you. I never desputed that. Though I’ve seen all three attack Christians (I have yet to see them on another religion) unprovoked.  I actually have links on two of those instances from Agnophilo. They were fairly recent events. When I’m on a real computer I’ll pull them for you if you like.

     
    Most religious people believe that viewpoints opinions should be formed on the basis of science, logic, and reason. In fact most humans in general do. To separate a particular group of people and say they fundamentally don’t, is a prejudice.
    Likewise to dissmiss religious (Or any for that matter) view points, a priori (Assuming that’s what you mean by authority, tradition, or  dogma) is NOT objective. Irony: to dissmiss any view point, a priori IS a dogma, by it’s very definition. As Bruce Lee once said: When you tether yourself to a particular idea, you cannot think beyond the scope of that idea! 
    As far as fallacies go: Well agno loves to counter points to articles posted on my site, by attack the credentials of the particular writer. Craig has developed this strawman of me: Where  by I’m a homophobic, zionistic, racist, republican, dominionist. Anther link I’ll pull for you is where he recently told my son that there are no differences between my beliefs and those of lobornlitesthoughtpalace.

     
    All that said, and returning to my original comment: Thats just my opinion of the use of the phrase. Nothing more, nothing less. You don’t need to feel threatened by that opinion. Espescially not if you’re right about me. I’m going to die never having known how ignorant I am for believing in a childish skydaddy. And thus you win… Whatever it is you win.

  • I think the “religion is all bullshit” billboards are just as obnoxious as the “you’re gonna burn in hell” billboards, and can see why julie would be offended by some of the stuff you blog (wouldn’t you have been, when you were christian?)  And at the same time I can see how saying she was your friend because she felt god wanted her to be would be a slap in the face to you.  But she doesn’t mean it like that. From a secular perspective what she interprets as god is just an aspect of her inner-workings, so saying she felt god wanted her to be your friend is the same as saying she thought she should be a friend to you – for what it’s worth.

    That being said if what she says is true, that you just retreat and never resolve anything – bear in mind that is what her family does to her constantly – they are pathologically incapable of accepting responsibility or dealing with blame, so they do and say really nasty stuff and then pretend they didn’t or put the blame on her, so she never gets an apology or any kind of resolution, so wounds that otherwise could heal stay open and raw.  So if you, one of her best friends, does the same thing that has to sting.  So if you want my advice, have a good fight, slug it out, say things you don’t mean, apologize for them and start over.  Just clear the air.

    @nidan - Writing a big long blog bashing me behind my back unprovoked… by claiming that I’m a bad person because I attack people unprovoked.

    When I criticize christians, I criticize them as individuals for their individual conduct without making generalizations.  I have also denounced atheists like connoryan as being bigots and criticized atheists for being rude to christians.  But you won’t see that – you are so biased that a christian can falsely accuse an atheist of rape on your blog and you don’t so much as blink but me criticizing someone for presenting themselves as an expert while talking about subjects they have no expertise in is so offensive you have to bring it up as an example of how awful I am months later.

    Yeah, I’m an awful person and I hate christians – keep telling yourself that.

  • @agnophilo - Thanks, Mark. (( hugs)) I agree. I was wrong in many ways.

  • @Jenamy - 
    Respectfully, I don’t think that was necessary at all. it appears as if you are deriving too much pleasure admonishing. Kristen and Barry are decent, good hearted people. Everyone has flaws but it should be rare that we point them out.

    Kristen, I’m sorry for voicing what I did publicly. I should have called or private messaged. You deserve better than that. And, I just want you to know that while “God” told me to befriend you, He also told me how awesome and precious and grateful I should be to know you. I do not think it is something you should feel insulted about– ( of course you can still feel that way, if yiu do), and of course i liked you for you. And, im not trying to convert you. But that whole trusting in God thing for me
    is not much different than your husband or good friend urging you to befriend somebody they think you should. That’s all I meant.
    It is a major loss if I lost you. You have been closer to me than my own twin. Surely, you hopefully know how much I’ve cared. But I’m still sorry for being inconsiderate and not giving you the benefit if the doubt. You’ve been very gracious to me here. More than I know I deserve.

  • @estadquietos - I was not admonishing Kristen. I have read this blog for a good while and followed her on the path of ups and downs. I feel great compassion and hope she finds the help or hope or comfort she is seeking.

    I am not a next door neighbor and this is my forum to reach her.  I wonder how many others have followed Kristen and reflect the same thoughts I have.

    You see a drastic transformation such as we have seen over the past few years of an adult woman points to underlying issues.

    One sway and uncovering and discovery perhaps…but as the pendulum swings then swings again, and again…she seems to be using this forum to scream out to the world for help.

    I hope and pray Barry can lead her to the help and friendship and counseling that she needs.

  • @estadquietos - Don’t be so hard on yourself.  And sorry about saying that stuff about your family in public, I will nuke it if you want.

    @Jenamy - I don’t think she suddenly became bi if that’s what you mean.

  • @agnophilo - No I did not mean that. I mean Kristen is all over the board on a tremendous amount of issues and it appears like her soul searching because of life and what has happened has really impacted her. I believe she is struggling and jumps on the the way a breeze floats then comes back another way. I do not believe she is truly discussing religion or sexuality when she discusses either. I believe she is struggling with some major issues and the way she is working through them is here with random and not so random blurbs to shock, awaken or anger readers. I think this diverts her from dealing with anything and she is staying in control.

    I hope she is able to figure out things with help or direction because from the reading of the blog it appears to sad…

  • @Jenamy - She changed her mind as far as faith and admitting to having been bi the whole time – changing your mind about something and coming out of the closet about something else isn’t flip-flopping.  If she’d been born-again would you accuse her of being neurotic too?

    Whatever someone’s religious views or sexuality their personality with color that and be an overriding factor, just please don’t act as though someone changing their religious views or being gay or bi is automatically a sign of deeper psychological issues.

  • @agnophilo - Thanks Mark :)   You got that right. My first crush at age 7 was on a girl. My first relationship was with a girl. So definitely not a new thing :)

  • @estadquietos - tis ok. We are good. hugs

  • @Jenamy - 

    Your site was created just a few days ago, which is highly suspect.
    I don’t know how
    somebody with a new site can presume to know her so well(?)
    Giving pat answers and unsolicited advice has rarely been helpful to anybody.
    Good counselors would know this.

    It’s very easy to make snap judgements based on what you perceive, but you aren’t anywhere in the ballpark.
    She discusses what is important to her.

    Unless you can receive the same kind of psychoanalysis
    from your blogs ( of which I see none), I would refrain.

  • I’m glad you have decided to quit lying and pretending about being a Christian and admit your real beliefs. I do hope that one day you will repent and belief the Gospel for real.

  • @estadquietos - I am a long time reader. As to a recent account it is interesting as I was trying to see if xanga was any different than blogger.

    As to my concerns-we live in techno age. We live in times where people implode via the computer and everyone cheers them on or watches them as they completely alter the identity that they once had without comment.

    My concern is that if this is what is happening then her incredible shifts in behavior may be signs of something major going on-whether physically or neurologically. She is not a teen so the swings are quite noted.

    I am not sure if Kristen’s blog is open to the inception but if it is…perhaps those of you that are new-should peruse her writings. Get to know her as I have and then you may see why I am concerned. She is a wife and a mother of three beautiful children and needs not only blind cheering for swinging views but comfort and concern as to perhaps an underlying condition that may be manifesting itself.

    As to her stand…I stand with her in her role as a wife and a mother.  I stand for her health and well being. I stand for her so that she can take some time to delve into the what’s and why’s that her behavior has drastically altered.  For the rest, I realize you too are trying to protect her from the seemingly rude comments I have made. As I do not have a phone number and the emails has resulted in nothing, I decided to breach the silence and mask of the blog and come forth with my thoughts.

    I wish Kristen all the best
    Jen Amy

  • @Kristenmomof3 - No commentary on the other stuff?

    @MagisterTom - Yeah, then maybe she can be back-handed and patronizing just like you! : )

    @Jenamy - I think you just see someone different from you and think their differences must stem from some deep personal defect, as if straight christian people never have issues.

  • @agnophilo - That probably came across as more offensive than I meant it to be. Thanks for pointing that out. Kristen, sorry to make it offensive. Anyway, I’m glad that you have “come out of the closet” so to speak. And, I do hope that you will turn to Christ for real.

  • @MagisterTom - You say you’re sorry for condescending, then repeat the exact same sentiment?  Yeah, feel the love.

  • @Kristenmomof3 - Yeah, it is harsh. I have to agree with SirNickDon on that one. They are distinct. I think of them as myths more than fairy tales. When did you become harsh? Have I missed something? I haven’t been able to read your blog lately, so, let me know.

  • @Jenamy - Thank you. That was why I replied as well. The blogging just seems so different here lately, and I’m concerned as well. :/

  • @akarui_mitsukai - it was in no way meant to be “harsh”. I apologize to any who took it that way.

  • @akarui_mitsukai - the said woman that you are agreeing with (@Jenamy - ) sent emails to us. She sent one to my husband implying that I must have a HEAD INJURY or lead poisoning because I am an atheist and stand for LGBTQ rights.

    @estadquietos - @agnophilo - Thank you both for your comments in reply to @Jenamy

  • @Kristenmomof3 - If it’s any consolation, I believe she is friends with you still to this day because she wants to be and greatly cares for you. :) God tells us to start many things like this by laying people on our hearts. Just because he may be the source of the origin for a friendship doesn’t make the friendship any less real. If that were the case, then most of my friendships would be viewed as fake in your eyes. And trust me… They’re not. I care greatly. :) And I believe she cares greatly for you as a dear friend because she wants to, so don’t equate your friendship with her to nothing, simply because God laid you on her heart way back when. :) Sounds to me like you’d loose something very dear, if that were the case. *hugs* We all love you. n_n

  • @Kristenmomof3 - Thank you. It just caught me off guard from you.
    @Kristenmomof3 - Really? I didn’t know such, though I agree with her still on the fact that the writing style of your blogs seems to have greatly changed these past couple of years. And again, I’m still just wondering what I’m missing.

  • @Kristenmomof3 - And yeah, I was reading through her replies after the last one she posted and was like “oh dear” at some of the stuff she said. o.O; But yeah. I still feel like I’m missing something. I hate not being able to read your blog as often as I used to, girl! :(

  • @akarui_mitsukai - when it comes to LGBTQ rights…I have been writing on my blog about that for a year now. If you would like to go back and read them here are all the ones tagged LGBTQ (It may not be all my posts on the issue as I don’t always remember to tag things) http://kristenmomof3.xanga.com/tags/lgbtq/

    and here are links for the posts about atheism http://kristenmomof3.xanga.com/tags/atheist/

  • @Kristenmomof3 - Glad my asshole detector is still working.  She made it sounds like you two were old friends and knew something we didn’t, so I wasn’t sure she wasn’t just talking about something I didn’t know about – but it still sounded insulting.  If she’d left that in a comment I would’ve been a lot more direct.

    Note that she didn’t respond to either of my last two comments to her.

    @akarui_mitsukai - If anyone is friends with an ulterior motive (as people often have when they befriend people with different religious views) they are not true friends.  I know julie isn’t like that though.

  • @agnophilo - It was that the wording wasn’t done as well as it should be that I apologized for. I don’t apologize for being glad that she is open now, or for hoping that she turns to Christ.

  • @MagisterTom -

    Patronize: v. Treat with an apparent kindness that betrays a feeling of superiority.

  • I’m confused. I searched the comments to see if you said why/when your point of view changed, but didn’t find one. Because I am curious why you went from one extreme to the other. I hope that didn’t sound offensive and I’m sorry if it did.

    Any who, staying true to who you are is very important. The true people in your life will love you no matter what, whether you believe in a God or don’t

  • @Kristenmomof3 - Sounds like you and me have a similar story. WOW!

  • @MagisterTom -I don’t apologize for hoping that she turns to Christ.

    This is a pretty ignorant comment my friend no matter how “caring” or “loving” it sounds or looks from the outside package it is MANIPULATION through the use GUILT and PITY. You are falsely elevating yourself to a “high spiritual level” while you look down upon this sister as if she is on a “lower spiritual level”. You sir are a MANIPULATOR!

  • @Kristenmomof3 -  I believe you and as whacked out as I thought you were and honorably inaccurate I was always nice to you. Never even went after your crazy beliefs. Sadly I was so not shocked to see you lose your legalistic faith. And again I was not mean to you. But you have grown very mean. Judgmental you always were mean that is new

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *